AWE becomes a Non-Departmental Public Body

AWE plc has completed its transition to what’s known in government as an ‘arm’s length body’, officially a Non-Departmental Public Body (NDPB). It is owned by the MOD and will continue to work under contract to the Defence Nuclear Organisation (DNO). AWE plc is the company that owns the Atomic Weapons Establishment where the UK’s nuclear weapons are designed, built and maintained.

AWE was renationalised due to a history of poor management, safety issues and failure to deliver several infrastructure projects by AWE Management Ltd. The 25 year management contract with the US owned consortium consisting of Lockheed Martin, Jacobs Engineering and Serco had another four years to run when it was terminated by government.

Companies House lists nine director terminations from the previous management company and several new non-executive director appointments to the NDPB including Chairman, Sir John Manzoni, Richard Elsy, Clare Flint, Dame Sue Ion, Nicole Kett and Dr Jerry (Steve) Rottler of the United States.

Many of the previous executive team are still in post, Alison Atkinson continues as CEO and MD, while Haydn Clulow, continues to head up Operations. Chief Financial Officer Peter Morton since 2018 joined the list of resignations at the end of September with no replacement currently listed. The full list of officers and their biographies is published on the AWE plc website.

AWE plc 2020 accounts made up to 31 December 2020 were posted in July this year and the accounting period for the current year has now been extended from 31 December to 31 March.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.