No Replacement Trident Early Day Motion

New EDM on Trident consultation, rapidly gaining signatures, currently 52 sigs: Lab 35, LibDem 9, Tory 2, others 6 on 12th Jan 2007 



Trickett, Jon (09.01.2007)

That this House notes the Prime Minister's statement in the House of 28th June 2006 that the White Paper, The Future of the United Kingdom's Nuclear Deterrent, would be accompanied by an announcement on the means of consultation for the fullest possible debate; is concerned that there has been no provision made for public consultation; believes that a period of three months is insufficient for a discussion on a decision of this magnitude; and calls on the Government to extend the period of consultation to enable all political parties and other organisations with a legitimate interest to undertake full discussion and consultation which will enable them to present their views and make representations to hon. Members before a debate and vote.


fyi- Jon Trickett is chair of the Compass group of Labour MP’s and is co-ordinating the formation of an umbrella group (inc charities, unions, NGOs) called ‘Rethink Trident’ to call for delaying the decision


on 29/01/07 there were 105 signatures as below

Trickett, Jon
Cruddas, Jon
Corbyn, Jeremy
Prentice, Gordon
Harvey, Nick
Spink, Bob
Price, Adam
Ruddock, Joan
Llwyd, Elfyn
Burgon, Colin
Challen, Colin
Durkan, Mark
Gibson, Ian
Baker, Norman
Williams, Hywel
Griffith, Nia
Purchase, Ken
Holmes, Paul
Jackson, Glenda
Jones, Lynne
Lazarowicz, Mark
Luff, Peter
Meacher, Michael
Meale, Alan
Breed, Colin
Campbell, Ronnie
Caton, Martin
Cohen, Harry
Cryer, Ann
Dismore, Andrew
Drew, David
Berry, Roger
Stringer, Graham
Taylor, David
Turner, Desmond
Vis, Rudi
Wareing, Robert N
Wyatt, Derek
Leech, John
Williams, Stephen
Singh, Marsha
Iddon, Brian
Illsley, Eric
McDonnell, John
Mitchell, Austin
Chaytor, David
Clapham, Michael
Galloway, George
George, Andrew
MacNeil, Angus
Williams, Mark
Hunter, Mark
Short, Clare
Skinner, Dennis
Moore, Michael
Foster, Don
Hamilton, Fabian
Taylor, Richard
Williams, Betty
Alexander, Danny
Burt, Lorely
Mulholland, Greg
Rennie, Willie
Hopkins, Kelvin
McCafferty, Chris
Dobson, Frank
Flynn, Paul
Stunell, Andrew
Teather, Sarah
Walley, Joan
Featherstone, Lynne
Lamb, Norman
Naysmith, Doug
Carmichael, Alistair
Hamilton, David
Truswell, Paul
Clark, Katy
Soulsby, Peter
Riordan, Linda
Davies, Dai
Prosser, Gwyn
Pugh, John
Simpson, Alan
Heath, David
Heyes, David
Dean, Janet
Etherington, Bill
Horwood, Martin
Abbott, Diane
Austin, John
Sarwar, Mohammad
Hoey, Kate
Pelling, Andrew
Godsiff, Roger
Grogan, John
Howarth, David
Cook, Frank
Fisher, Mark
Strang, Gavin
Hemming, John
Dowd, Jim
Amess, David
Willis, Phil
Opik, Lembit
Dobbin, Jim

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.